Let’s Get Personal : “How Do You Have Time?”

One of the things I used to love about book blogging was the sense of camaraderie between bloggers. We loved on each other, we sang praises, we built each other up. Not that I don’t see that now, but seeing as how I’m a bit removed, it’s something I missed. When I came back to blogging, I considered doing a couple Danie Reads Books-specific features. I debated about Let’s Get Personal for a bit, because I am careful to put too much out there. Between my job, and my son, I’m hesitant to put too much of myself out online. But, then I realized….that sense of friendship was BECAUSE we put ourselves out there. So, I’m starting Let’s Get Personal. Graphic to come, after I find someone who can actually make them, ha.

 

One of the things I’ve had a couple people ask me, is “how do you have time to read and blog?” Well, that’s easy. I make time. BOOM DONE.

 

No? Okay. Here we go then.

 

For those of you who don’t know….I’m a single mama. I have a 1.5 year old son, Noah, who will be two in October. I have him full-time. This means from sun up to sun down, he’s with me (or in daycare). The exception being the 7-8 hours a week (or every other week, or every three weeks, or once a month…but that’s another story) that his father takes him on Sundays. He’s a pretty rad kid, with an awesome sense of humor, a huge sense of curiosity, and a love of books and music like his Mommy.

 

I also work 50-ish hours a week as a preschool teacher. I teach 15 two and a half year olds. It’s exhausting, it’s draining, it’s SO MUCH FUN. But it does involve a lot of work, both in my actual classroom, and with stuff I take home. Not to mention trainings, staff meetings, and conferences.

On top of THAT, I go to school. Full-time. I’m (slowly) working on my bachelors in Early Childhood Administration. This usually amounts to 15-ish hours a week of homework, studying, writing, etc.

And then the blog.

So, how do I manage? Easy. I plan every day of my life out. I’ve tried many, many planners before. They always got pushed to the side, and forgotten about. So now I have a stupidly expensive planner, I decorate it with stickers, and I spend more money on it than I should. Why is this a good thing? Because I’m not spending freaking $70 on a planner that I’m not going to use.

This is my decorated planner, before it’s written in. Some things I write are private (specific to kids in my class, or related to my son’s father, etc), so I won’t post that here. But yeah.

image1.PNG

So, this is an Erin Condren LifePlanner. In the top row, I write specific date-related things. If I have a class that night, if Noah has a doctor appointment, etc. Middle row is my to-do list for that day. And on nights that I have class, it’s my list of homework for the next week. Bottom row is anything else. “Talk to XYZ’s parents about _____,” “get gas,” “phone bill due.” That type of stuff.

My typical  VERY BRIEF weekly schedule looks like this :

SUNDAY : Noah-free from 9AM-5PM. I mainly work on homework this day, because I’m able to focus and power through without stopping. If I have Noah, then I’m usually cramming as much homework as I can into his nap time.

MONDAY-FRIDAY : Wake up at 4:45AM. Leave for work at 6AM. Usually get home around 6PM. Sometimes earlier, if I’m lucky. Noah duty until 8 when it’s his bedtime. Class from 8-9 on Mondays, from 7-8 on Wednesdays. Clean, laundry, dishes, etc after classes, or after Noah goes to bed. I try to be in bed by 10, and read until about 10:30.

SATURDAY : Blog stuff, or taking Noah places.

 

A lot of my reading gets done on my hour lunch breaks at work, or when I’m in bed for the night. Not having a lot of time is hard, but we make it work. I like staying busy, it keeps me from ever being bored.

 

Do you have a lot of things going on besides your blog? What do you do to manage it all?What do you think about the Let’s Get Personal feature? What type of things would you like to hear me talk about with it? It can be anything at all, as long as it’s about getting to know each other. Let me know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

